Hummus d’origine Berlin

This is a guest post by our friend Raha. The photo’s were taken at a little picnic we had last week at our community garden, StadtGarten

An Israeli friend in Berlin makes the best hummus in town. We call him the “King of Hummus”. He was so good that he opened a restaurant in Mitte, Sababa. When I asked him how he does it, without giving me his recipe, he told me:”Hummus, you should make it with love”.

But I had my mama’s recipe and so I tried to bring some love to it. Here is the result.

Recipe

Hummus d’origine Berlin

1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

1 can of chickpeas (if you are lazy), drained and washed to get rid of extra sodium. Otherwise you can soak 1 1/2 cups of chickpeas in salt water over night and cook them until nice and tender.

3 heaping tbsp of tahini (sesame paste that you find in Arab Oriental shops)

Juice from 1 big lemon (I once used an orange because I ran out of lemon)

Salt and pepper to taste

3 tbsp olive oil

Some water to make the whole thing thinner. About 1/3 of a cup or as much as you think you need.


Preparation

So you add everything (except the water) in a food processor or blender. Blend well. Add the water at the end slowly until you get the right texture. And voila!

So you are the creator of your hummus. You are the God of Hummus, so just play with the ingredients and amounts. Once I added a touch of Asian chilly oyster sauce or another time some turmeric and it turned out very tasty. Don’t stick with the original. Make it with love so you can make love to it 😉

And for garnish sprinkle some chili on top or put 2 chickpeas.

Don’t forget to warm up some pita breads for dipping. Or serve with a fresh tomato, lemon and mint salad. It goes well with the dish.

Enjoy

Raha

Comments
8 Responses to “Hummus d’origine Berlin”
  1. Yum. What I want to know is where did you get the pita in the photo? I have yet to find a local store (P-berg/Mitte) that sells thin (Lebanese style?) pita. 😦

    • Raha says:

      Boris dear, The pita I found was the bigger ones that I bought from a shop in Wilhemstrasse Berlin Mitte(yes the lebanese style). I was walking by and noticed it is an oriental shop. But you can find this bread in any oriental shop mostly in Kreuzberg. If not, try the smaller Pitas sold in supermarkets. You should warm up any pita before using it. It is not that bad!

      • smartmobs says:

        Thanks Raha. I’ve lived in Berlin for a few years now and always keep my eyes open for lebanese pita and have yet to see it anywhere, Kreuzberg or not. That is why I asked. 🙂
        It is one of the things I miss from (foodie paradise) Montreal: large Lebanese community so high quality hummus and pita is a standard in even mainstream supermarkets. Ah well. 🙂
        thanks anyways.

      • Anna says:

        Boris, I hear that! 😉

  2. Amy Pirt says:

    I love love love hummus! Don’t knock canned chickpeas, though: some people are very short on time. Shall definitely go to Sababa next time I go to Berlin.

  3. I always feel so good after eating good hummus. Fresh lemon juice is where it is at.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

