Glazed salmon with cucumber

A few weeks ago, our dear friend Gab came to visit us in Berlin. She is one of the best cooks we know and so, as we do every time she visits, we asked her to show us to a new recipe. We didn’t have the time we usually have for a long leisurely dinner on this visit, so she tracked down one of her favorite quick and simple recipes to use. Here is what she had to say about it:

“The recipe is adapted from a Donna Hay recipe. My mother started making it a while ago and I loved it so much that I had to steal the recipe. It’s a no fail recipe that is easy, quick and tasty.”


The Recipe

Glazed Salmon with cucumber salad

Adapted from a recipe in Donna Hay’s The Instant Cook 

Serves 4

4 x 200 gram skinless salmon filets

2 tsp vegetable oil

6 tbps lime juice

9 tbps brown sugar

3 tsp fish sauce

3 tbps soy sauce

2 tsp chili flakes

3 small cucumber, sliced in ribbons

1/2 cup coriander (cilantro) leaves

4 green onions sliced

Mirin – rice wine vinegar (optional)

Basmati rice

Place the thinly sliced cucumbers in a large bowl and toss with the coriander and onions. You can add a splash mirin to the cucumber if you want it to have a bite. Put this cucumber mixture aside for later.

While you prepare the salmon be sure to put your basmati rice on.

In second bowl, mix together lime juice, sugar, fish sauce, soya sauce and chili flakes. Cook saumon in the vegetable oil on medium heat, 2 minutes for each side. Add the sauce mixture to the saumon. When the fish is done, remove it from the pan. Cook the remaining liquid down until the sauce becomes slightly sticky. When it has the texture of a pouring sauce take it off the heat.

Place fish on the cucumber mixture. Spoon extra sauce over everything. Serve with a side of rice.

Eat and enjoy 🙂

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Glazed salmon with cucumber”
  1. Cori says:

    That looks really yummy! I know what I’m making for dinner 🙂

  2. Wow this looks amazing. What beautiful photography!

  3. That does look fantastic :D. Though, you may hold the cucumber for me… I can’t stand that stuff 😛

  4. trangquynh says:

    this is definitely what I want for lunch everyday ^^

  5. emmycooks says:

    Beautiful! I love an easy meal that comes together so quickly.

  6. I agree with emmycooks, I’m all for quick, easy and delicious, def a big fan of salmon…. Tovah

  7. This is something for me! Totally. I love salmon and coriander. Must try it :).

    Greetings,
    Ana

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.